Warlocks of the Sigil by Peri Akman // Indie Book Review

Title: Warlocks of the Sigil

Series: The Sigil Series

Author: Peri Akman

Genre: Fantasy

Release Date: June 30th, 2017

My Rating: 3.5/5

My Thoughts:

Warlocks of the Sigil seems to be self-published and is the authors first published work! The author is actually someone I know from college. I saw they had written a book a while ago and I decided to read it and review it for my blog. I believe she was president of my schools writing club and was involved with LARP so when I saw she wrote a Fantasy novel I added it to my TBR!

Goodreads Description:

When Quinn was told he was deemed fit to learn magic as an apprentice, he didn’t know what to expect. He certainly didn’t expect to be plunged into a world of politics, demons, monsters, petty drama and angry primordial deities, all while being guided by an off kilter, rant-happy warlock, who has more secrets than Quinn has problems. Nothing he can’t handle, right?

Like it? Love it? Hate it?

I liked it! The book was interesting and I really enjoyed the characters. The fantasy wasn’t too heavy, so even newbie or casual fantasy readers can get into it. It is an easy read while also bringing up topics like consent and gender fluidity. I also find it suitable and entertaining for readers of MG, YA Or adult books. I thought there was really great world building. I liked that you learned about the religions and politics influencing this world.

Critiques? Disappointments?

The ending hit me by surprise in a way I’m not sure is good or bad and I felt like the Gods could have been written better, specifically the way they talked.

Conclusion:

Warlocks of the sigil is a fun easy to consume fantasy series about a Wizard’s apprentice. I am looking forward to finding out what happens next to Quinn and how his powers evolve.

Should you read it? I think you should! Especially if you like Fantasy and haven’t read a good book about wizards in a while!

What power would you want to have as a Wizard?

Thanks for reading!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.